3016 Surging & full choke needed to run
    Thanks

Talking 3016 Surging & full choke needed to run

Hey everyone. I'm a novice, at best, with engines, and I need some help. I have a 3016 ("Inga") with fairly high hours and an Onan engine. She's always smoked just a tad at startup, but runs solidly - everytime. I've had a mechanic pressure test, and check out the smoking just a month or so ago. They said it's fine given it's age and hours. Advised monitoring oil consumption, and keep up the good maintenance.

Just yesterday, Inga started surging when I would turn uphill. Now, I have some huge hills where I live, so I kinda enjoyed the new feature ... That is until she started stalling. Then it progressed to only running at full choke. I've found this article and this article that point me towards needing to clean the carb out/change fuel line filter.

So, my questions are:
    1. Do you think that's the right place to start?
    2. If so, do you know of any walk-throughs, or videos that I can review to get some help? Remember, I'm a novice at best.

I've done carb work on my old boat before that was pretty successful, so I think I can handle this one!

Thanks everyone for your help/advice in advance!

2. # ADS

Thanks
    For Onan related topics there are tons of videos on YouTube.

My strong personal experience is that you always start with new fuel line, fuel line clamps, filter and also the pulse line. Then see what you have.

I have refebished a good amount of tractors in a couple years and they all start easy and run perfect. Most the time all I did was the fuel line stuff.

Sent from my XT1097 using Tapatalk

4. The Following User Says Thank You to ssmewing For This Useful Post:

74_case_onan (06-06-2017)

Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by ssmewing View Post
    For Onan related topics there are tons of videos on YouTube.